This is How You Lose Her

This post is inspired by:

Literature.

No headlining quote necessary because today I’m listing my favorites. I have done a similar post with lyrics of music, so it only makes sense to do literature. This list does not go in any particular order.

Enjoy!

1.) “She was becoming herself and daily casting aside that fictitious self which we assume like a garment with which to appear before the world.”
Kate Chopin, “The Awakening”

2.) “And now that you don’t have to be perfect, you can be good.”
John Steinbeck, East of Eden

3.) “In spite of everything, I still believe people are really good at heart.”
Anne Frank, The Diary of Anne Frank

4.) “I loved her against reason, against promise, against peace, against hope, against happiness, against all discouragement that could be.”
Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

5.) “Why don’t you tell me that ‘if the girl had been worth having she’d have waited for you’? No, sir, the girl really worth having won’t wait for anybody.”
F. Scott Fitzgerald, This Side of Paradise

6.) “Remember that wherever your heart is, there you will find your treasure.”
Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

7.) “Maybe ever’body in the whole damn world is scared of each other.”
John Steinbeck, Of Mice and Men

8.) “We did everything adults would do. What went wrong?”
William Golding, Lord of the Flies

9.) “Riding the train gives him too much time to think. Too much thinking can ruin you.”
Judith Guest, Ordinary People

10.) “I woke up as the sun was reddening; and that was the one distinct time in my life, the strangest moment of all, when I didn’t know who I was – I was far away from home, haunted and tired with travel, in a cheap hotel room I’d never seen, hearing the hiss of steam outside, and the creak of the old wood of the hotel, and footsteps upstairs, and all the sad sounds, and I looked at the cracked high ceiling and really didn’t know who I was for about fifteen strange seconds. I wasn’t scared; I was just somebody else, some stranger, and my whole life was a haunted life, the life of a ghost.”
Jack Kerouac, On the Road

Words and emotions are powerful.

Leave a Reply

