The One Where They’re Going To Party

This post is inspired by:

“I believe when life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade…and try to find someone whose life has given them vodka, and have a party.”

Greetings everyone, happy Sunday, almost last week of classes, and almost Christmas time! To start off, I love Sundays. There’s nothing like a relaxing day, gearing up for the week ahead, and recalling your weekend. Most people don’t like Sundays, but I do.

As some of you know I had quite the night on Friday, but it didn’t stop there. Last night I went to a beer Olympics at a friends house. I thought he was kidding when he said he was planning this — but this was no joke.

If you are out of college, or out of the loop of house parties like I was, I was a little nervous about going. Being 22 in the city is a lot different than being 22 and living in a college town. Anyway, I show up to my friends (who grew this god awful mustache, but I love him anyway) place. People. A lot of people. Everywhere. Then the games started, typical college games of course. Beer pong, flip cup, mini case races, the whole nine yards.

So we had a good time, made some new friends, caught up with old ones and was home by 3:30. Secretively, I like house parties. I always give them a lot of crap because I pretend I’m too sophisticated for them since I’m a big girl in the city now. Truth be told, house parties are awesome. Nothing is better than a group of people getting together, drinking and hanging out, and most importantly laughing. What is so great about house parties is that they give people the ability to meet new people without trying to hard. For example, last night I was in a crowd of people I had never met, and would probably never see again, but we had something in common — everywhere who was there knew someone who lived in the house. Right off the bat, a conversation starter.

It makes me wonder though, do house parties ever go out of style? At what age does it become socially unacceptable to play drinking games, and pass out on the floor? Everything in moderation right?

Good DJ, good drinks, good friends, great night.

Leave a Reply

