Hide and Cover

This post is inspired by:

“Tell me that you’re alright, yeah everything is alright” 

Well it’s Monday. And it’s raining, but it’s humid out — welcome to New England where the weather is bipolar, and the people get a little crazy too. So, there’s a lot going on, and personally when I have a lot going on, music always gets me through. While I’ve written about music before, how it can heal, make you forget, make you dance a little or tap your foot, there is something really special about music.

For those of you who don’t know anything about me and only know what I post on the blog, for years I have had mixed feelings about live music, consistently I am known for saying that I don’t like live music, and that it’s never the same from what you hear on your iPod or on the radio. Well, times have changed, and I’m a new person. Not only am I a huge fan of live music, but I’m an even bigger fan of cover bands.

What changed my mind some might ask? Well, I’ve seen a couple really awesome cover bands lately that have pushed in this new direction of expanding my horizons. The reason I have come to love live music is because it transports you right then and there. It gives you a new memory on an old song, and that is something worth loving.

What makes a cover band great? Is it the songs they pick, the vocalist, or the musicians themselves? Well, it’s a little bit of both, and maybe some random throw up in the bathroom, so you know the crowd is having a great time. People who know me, know my love for music, are often not surprised that I like live music, let alone cover bands. Live music has some ability to get you connected to the musicians, like you are feeding off each other’s energy to make an epic night.

To listen to some of my favorite cover bands these days check out Business Time and Good Will and Them Apples both local bands from the Boston area!

“Remember the first time you went to a show and saw your favorite band. You wore their shirt, and sang every word. You didn’t know anything about scene politics, haircuts, or what was cool. All you knew was that this music made you feel different from anyone you shared a locker with. Someone finally understood you. This is what music is about”.

Leave a Reply

