Lone Survivor

This post is inspired by:

“I will never quit. My nation expects me to be physically harder and mentally stronger than my enemies. If knocked down i will get back up, every time. I will draw on every remaining ounce of strength to protect my enemies and to accomplish our mission. I am never out of the fight.”

Good evening friends, and happy Sunday! For many of you, tomorrow starts the first week back from a two-week vacation, and I wish you the best of luck! It’s not easy going back to work after a break, especially when you may not want to. 

I don’t know how long this post will be, but it should be an interesting one if your a book worm like I’m trying to be for 2014. Today I started a re-read, one that I said I was going to do for my NYE resolution in this post. When I was trying to decide what book I wanted to re-read I was watching football (the San Diego game to be exact) and I saw a commercial for a book I have read: The Lone Survivor. If you have seen the trailer, you know what I am talking about, if not watch it here. Sadly, the movie (which I think will be great) does no justice to the book. 

Without giving too much away, here is a brief synopsis of the book: 

Four US Navy SEALS departed one clear night in early July 2005 for the mountainous Afghanistan-Pakistan border for a reconnaissance mission. Their task was to document the activity of an al Qaeda leader rumored to be very close to Bin Laden with a small army in a Taliban stronghold. Five days later, only one of those Navy SEALS made it out alive.

I highly recommend that you go on Amazon, you can preview the book and read the preface and the first chapter. Normally I would never put too many hyperlinks, but this is totally worth it! If you check it out, I want to know what you think! 

 

Happy reading!  

Leave a Reply

