There Goes the Fear

This post is inspired by:

“You turn around and life’s past you by”

I’m not really sure how to start this post, so here I am staring at my computer trying to write. Talk about a writer’s block. Even though when you all see this, there will be a quote at the top like normal, right now as I type, there’s nothing just to give an idea of what’s going on while I type. 

For the last few days some weird things have happened, nothing too specific, but things. I’ve been sitting quietly thinking to myself for the last few days, one of my favorite activities, about things from the past, and more specifically things I regret that are now in my past. Naturally, or at least for me, I fixate on these things, and next thing you know I’m up staring at my ceiling thinking about them.

If you really sit down and think about it, regret is a funny feeling. Yes, it can make you upset and things like that, but it’s interesting to think about certain things you regret. Why do you regret them? Why were certain things so important to you that you regret not doing them, or doing them? Think about how much power that is for one decision. 

People constantly say “You don’t want to wake up one morning and regret something from your past” whoever thought of that saying couldn’t be more right. It’s not a feeling you want to carry around with you for a long period of time, regretting things you didn’t say, or realizing you made a huge mistake. But the truth of the matter is, that almost everyday you’re going to do something that you regret. For example, right now, I should be doing my homework, but instead I’m writing. In a few hours, I’ll probably regret that I didn’t do my homework now, because now I’m staying up later to do it. I guess the important thing is to stick by your decision, and truly stick by it, no matter what is it.

To a point, there will be consequences to everything, but it’s how you deal with the consequences that help you learn for next time. 

 

 

“We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret.

The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tons”.

Leave a Reply

