In West Philadelphia…

This post is inspired by:

“I put my walkman on and said, ‘I might as well kick it'”. 

If you are unaware of the title, or the lyric, pull up a new tab and listen. Today’s topic will be one of my favorites, the 90’s. While I do love decades like the 20s, 50s, and 60s, there is something about the 90s that really gets to me. It’s the decade that I grew up in, so yes, I am a little bias. So sit back and enjoy the post, as I take you through the best of the 90s. 

Television:  The 90s is where we are introduced to family shows, shows that still to this day give us a laugh, and of course the beginning of reality TV. Shows like Full House, Fresh-Prince of Bel-Air, Friends, Beverly Hills 90210 and The Real World took over television by storm, and I think it’s safe to say we never looked back. Whether that is good or bad is still debatable. The comedy never dies, as reruns are played daily, and I still watch them. Who could forget the episode of Friends where Ross and Rachel took a break, or when Michelle bought a donkey on Full House? These are classic TV shows, and have created spin offs for generations to enjoy. 

Music: Every once and a while, on VH1 I find myself finding The Greatest Hits of the 90s, and my face just lights up! I can sit there for hours, watch and sing along to greatest tunes. Once again, yes this is my blog, so I am bias. There are many great bands and songs from the 90s that I will not be talking about, this is no way means that they aren’t great.  Bands such as Nirvana, Radiohead, Oasis, Third Eye Blind, Dave Matthews and Matchbox 20 have all made their mark in the world, and have been able to get us through something at one point or another. How many of you know all the words to “Wonderwall” or can remember the first time you heard “Semi-Charmed Life” or “Satellite” ? The music has changed big time since the days of these bands, and later phenomenons such as the Backstreet Boys, little Brittany Spears, and the Spice Girls, again, for better or worse?

Clothing:  In the conversation of clothing, and the 90s, the decade couldn’t have done it any better. This decade brought style to a completely new level by showing off leg warmers, neon colors, overalls, and long skirts for the girls. As for the guys, look at MC Hammer, or stylish figures like Danny Tanner and you couldn’t go wrong. Yes, they are very, very different, but that doesn’t mean that one is better than the other… does it? 

Typical Technology: It doesn’t seem like that long ago, but a lot has changed since the 90s. Prior to this decade, email wasn’t popular, and neither was AIM. People used walk-mans and MP3 players (in the late 90s) instead of ipods. Or huge desktop computers.. and the computer games that went along with it. I can still remember playing a Land Before Time computer game on a giant desktop.  Classic good times. 

Games and Toys: If you were a kid growing up in the 90s like me, you probably had every toy I’m about to list, or at least remember it (hopefully!). As a kid, I had everything from a skip-it to barbies, and ferbies. Side note: Ferbies always creeped me out, and I still can’t believe that A.) they made money off of that, and B.) that I owned one. This was also the generation where things like Hot Wheels and board games like Sorry! came out as well. If you were a girl and didn’t have Lisa Frank things for school, you might as well have transferred.. 

General Attitude: To sum up one of my favorite decades, I’ll talk about the general attitude of the decade. There were a lot of changes of this generation during this time, that helped shape the world for the rest of time. By changing entertainment by introducing shows that we still watch today changed me for life. 

Thank you 90’s for making me a better person! 

Leave a Reply

