Ya’ll Come Back Now

This post is inspired by:

“I was born country and that’s what I’ll always be.
Like the rivers and the woodlands wild and free”.

You will always learn something new about me when I write, as it should be. I write to communicate with whoever is reading, and it’s always nice to have a little background. If you don’t recognize the lyrics, which I try not to quote ever, it’s Alabama’s “Born Country”.

Here’s your new fact about me for the night: I have southern roots, too legit. In percentage, it would probably be like 80%. Half of my family (my Mom’s side) is from the deep south, and I’m obsessed with it. I’m everything short of having an accent. It was always something I recognized and appreciated, but it didn’t really hit me until she passed that I appreciated it a thousand times more.

Yes, I am in love with country music (who isn’t), and everyone loves the southern hospitality thing, but it’s more than that. It’s very much a mental state that I get when I go down there and visit my grandparents. I will go out on a limb, and say almost the state of perfection.

Because I’m a Northerner and love being a Masshole, this is often brushed to the side, but it’s very much a part of who I am. By embracing the other half of my past, the non-rigid side, I’ve seen the change inside myself:

waving to strangers, making innocent random small talk, saying ya’ll (the best word invented), eating lots of southern food (my grandma ships us chicken n’ dumplings), can’t get enough of the Alabama/Auburn rivalry, and the deathly yes ma’am, no ma’am.

With all of this being said, if one is ever feeling lost, travel down south. You’ll be treated like family within a matter of seconds.

*side note:

I drove a black pick-up truck and got made fun of… it was the best thing that ever happened to me

Leave a Reply

