Wanderlust

This post is inspired by:

“I met a lot of people in Europe. I even encountered myself.”

So tonight I am taking you back to Europe, even though in my first post of this new blog I promised I wouldn’t. Some promises are meant to be broken. This is not meant for me to tell about my four months, or about certain experiences, but the experience in general.

Ever since I returned from Europe, I’m not the same person as I was when I left. For those who knew me before can vouch for me. If you met me after my trip, I apologize you could not see this transformation. My attitude has changed completely, as I am willing to take more risks, and try everything, because life is simply too short, and it’s silly not to.

Prior to this trip I had a family death, and felt that more than ever it was time for me to leave things behind and focus on myself for a little bit.

Solution?

I got on a plane, headed to Europe and never looked back. It was truly the best decision, not because of the timing of me leaving, but what the time apart did for me.

There’s something truly magical about doing something on your own, and putting yourself out there that gives you a confidence that changes you completely. Knowing that you can make it on your own when you didn’t think you could before.

I now find myself back in the city that I once loved, but view it very, very differently. Don’t get me wrong, I love Boston, the general atmosphere of the city, especially around this time, but it’s no Barcelona, London, or Amsterdam.

If you were to ask me a few weeks ago to write about my time in Europe, I wouldn’t have been able to do it, let alone talk about it with friends and family. As stated in my first post, it made me too sad that I wasn’t living my life there, having new experiences, and meeting people left and right on pub crawls. I no longer feel this way for this specific reason: the sadness I feel has only given me the motivation to go back, conquer new land, and have new experiences as soon as possible. With all the awful crap going on in the world, violence, unemployment, economic debt, etc, people quickly forget the greatness in the world, because they can’t see it everyday.

Yes, it’s true that Europeans are jealous of Americans for many reasons, the land of opportunity and all that stuff, but we should be jealous of them. Europe is where it all started. I encourage all of you to thank your favorite historical moment in European history, or the one that has most important to you, go there, and see what the world has to offer.

Wanderlust

An irresistible desire to travel and to understand one’s existence

Leave a Reply

