The Mysterious Necessity of Life

This post is inspired by:

“Music has the power to cause emotions to well up within us. These feelings are gripping, often irresistible – and seem to emerge from nowhere. It has the ability to inevitably tap the still, mysterious deep well of our emotions.”

This is an early post, simply because it’s been in my mind all day, not the idea of writing this particular post, but music in general. I also think this topic is relevant today because it is the country star legend’s birthday, Johnny Cash, who would have been 81 today.

I don’t know about all of you, but for me, music has the ability to take control of my day, good or bad. One song can completely shape my whole day, put me in a better mood, make me reflect on certain things, whatever. 

I am also one of those people who needs to listen to music all the time. For example, today after leaving my stationary sanctuary (the gym) I slipped on my headphones, put on Pandora and realized that I wasn’t ready to head back to my dorm so I walked some around the city. Next thing you know, it was mid-afternoon, and I was down by the hospitals just enjoying life. Whatever I was listening to made me feel that I wasn’t ready to go back inside, back to my academic life yet. I was loving every minute of it.

Do you ever listen to a song, and automatically it makes you think of something else, and without even knowing it, your mind is wandering?

For me, a simple lyric does that, and then my mind just goes. 

I have recently noticed that I listen to music way more than other people do, and that is perceived in different ways. Of course I am listening to it now, when I walk in between classes, and doing homework, but I am known for having one headphone in, even when I eat with my friends. While some think this is rude, annoying, whatever, it’s who I am, and my friends understand that. Music is simply a large part of who I am.

The controversy with the statement above is that I am always questioned why I don’t play a musical instrument.  Here is what I have to say:

It’s not the same. End of story. 

Being able to play an instrument is a wonderful talent to have, and you can spark emotion on those who listen to you, but it’s not the same as sitting, or standing and just listening. In a similar debate, you could ask why some people love going to concerts. I like concerts, but I don’t love them, once again, because it’s not the same. Because music is such a broad topic, many different genres, sounds, etc, each person hears the music differently. Therefore, I don’t want to go see Eli Young Band and stand next to someone who doesn’t understand the lyrics, or the reason for writing the song. I wouldn’t be able to focus. 

I encourage music to everyone all the time so, take my advice:

Plug your headphones in, and let the music heal you. 

 

Leave a Reply

