Choices

This post is inspired by:

“Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end”. 

Today was a very big day for me, today was the day that I officially decided to change my major. For those of you who do not know me as well, hopefully you will see why this was such a big day for me.

Ever since I was a little kid, I wanted to teach. I spent my summers playing school with my imaginary students as I “taught” them Math, Science and History. This went on for years, so judge me all you want. I then started to define myself as a future teacher, so when I applied to college, all I looked at were schools that had excellent education programs and nothing else.

Then, I studied abroad.

When I brought this up to my advisor, my Dad and even myself, I couldn’t pinpoint what happened to me when I studied abroad, but all of the sudden I wasn’t interested in teaching anymore. This frazzled me because being a teacher was all I really knew, and now I just didn’t know anymore. I spent days analyzing myself, my interests, what I think I’m good at, what I know I’m good at until I came to the conclusion that teaching was not for me, and that I rather be in psychology and human development. When I brought this up to my family, everyone’s first reaction was the same: what can you do with this degree?

I then set up meetings and talked to a handful of people, students, professors, and everyone in between to find out what I can do with this major, and the result was unbelievable. The basic answer to this question is anything I want, which gives me a lot more freedom than teaching ever did. This is both exciting and terrifying at the same time.

Earlier today I decided that I’m tired of people asking me what I’m majoring in, and what I plan to do with the rest of my life. Yes, I know I can’t just wander through life with no plan, and I have my Dad to thank for parenting me this way, but to be honest I just don’t know, but I have a lot of choices and a lot of time to think about it.

I recently realized that when making a choice, we are taught that the choice we make is a huge decision and will therefore affect the rest of our lives. Fortunately to my discovery, this is not always the case. Yes, some choices are crucial, but not all choices end up defining who you are.

I am here to remind you all that you do have time to do everything you want and even if your plan that you’ve had for years goes off course and suddenly you change your mind, your world isn’t going to fall apart.

Just be smart and recalculate.

Leave a Reply

