Coming Back

This post was inspired by:

 “I had to develop the mentality and stay positive about making my comeback”. 

Okay so I apologize for not keeping up with my blog as much as I want to, but I have to live my life in order to write about it, so I figure that’s a good excuse. What has been going on with me, well I’m still jobless, freezing because of this weather and recently got sick. However, when I’m not complaining about things, I’ve been going to the gym and playing basketball. Playing sports has always been an important thing to me, I grew up doing it. Up until last year, I have been playing basketball for six years, breaking for two and then playing for two so eight years total. It wasn’t until I came back from being abroad that I discovered how much I missed playing.

Playing a sport, and being on a team meaning hundreds of different things to different people, but for me it’s pretty simple; I like the way I feel after getting a basket, or setting a teammate up for a shot. How far can I push myself? It’s a mental thing.

A few days ago I decided to step back onto the court after a full year of not playing, and sucking does not even begin to describe how I was. I only played for an hour, and luckily I was alone, but I still got a similar feeling when I got a basket. Almost saying to myself that if I can make a basket from the top of the key, why can’t I make a three-pointer?

After an hour of shooting around, I started to feel the pain in the body and muscles, as if they were saying “Why did you quit?” To be honest, I don’t know why I did, but I will be pushing myself at the gym almost every day.

I will forever try to get that feeling back.

an empty gym

an empty gym

One comment

  1. Pingback: Potential | the spanish american way

Leave a Reply

